Skip to main navigation.

Two local gridiron stars named Mr. Football finalists


Colton Bailey


The field of athletes vying to be South Carolina’s top high school football player is down to five and two are from the Broad River Electric service area.

On Wednesday, Oct. 11, the South Carolina Athletic Coaches Association selected the finalists for the 2017 Mr. Football award. Chapman High quarterback Colton Bailey, who led his team to state title last season, and Spartanburg High linebacker Connor Shugart were among the five chosen.

All five players will be recognized during halftime of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl on Saturday, December 9, in Myrtle Beach, followed by the introduction of this year’s award recipient.

Finalists for the 2017 Mr. Football award are:

  • Amir Abrams
    Running back
    Newberry High School
  • Colton Bailey
    Chapman High School
  • Dakereon Joyner
    Fort Dorchester High School
    Committed to the University of South Carolina
  • Connor Shugart
    Spartanburg High School
  • Channing Tindall
    Spring Valley High School

The S.C. Athletic Coaches Association established the Mr. Football award in 1995. Seven former recipients have played or are currently playing in the National Football League.

“We want to thank our committee who came in to choose our Mr. Football candidates,” said Shell Dula, executive director of the S.C. Athletic Coaches Association. “We feel that the finalists are not only outstanding football players but also outstanding young men. They certainly represent the state of South Carolina in a very positive way.”

The 2017 Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl, North vs. South All-Star game is played at 12:30 p.m., Dec. 9, at Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium in Myrtle Beach. Players chosen to compete in this year’s contest will be announced on Monday, October 23. Tickets can be purchased at

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo